Language: EN MM

Period of Parliament government

Pyaw Bwe U Mya was elected as the Speaker of the Parliament. Ceremony of transferring State Power was held in the Governor's House at 6:30 AM. The last Governor Sir Hubert Ranse and his wife left Rangoon at 8:20 AM.

The fifth legislative meeting came to an end by the Executive Order from the President on 24th April 1947.
The AFPFL Government submitted their resignation to the parliament at 2:00 AM suddenly on 15th July 1943.
On 15th August 1948, the Cabinet was reformed again and took an oath at 7:00 PM for inauguration in the Parliament Chamber.
Fresher in Politics were appointed as Ministers with the approval of the Parliament on 14th September 1948. Newly appointed Ministers felt awkwardly for having no information even about their seating arrangement. So they took a peep at the legislative meeting in the Chamber before they came in.

The sixth legislative meeting came to an end on 16th September 1948.

The seventh regular session of the Parliament convened on 31st January 1949.

Public service personnel were going on strike and every employer broke off their duties on 7 February 1949. Lictor of the Parliament was also out on strike. Deputy speaker U Sein, the Secretary carried the mace by himself.
The Seventh regular Session of the Parliament came to an end on 14 February 1949 .Lady MP Daw Khin Hla (daughter of Dee Dok U Ba Cho) from Kyee Myin Daing constituency submitted a proposal to enact a law making Buddhism the State Religion. But her proposal was voted down.
Dr. Ba U took on oath for his inauguration as the President of Union of Burma on 13th March 1952.

Law prohibiting the school lessons on Religious doctrines were enacted on 23rd August 1954.
Lessons on Buddhism were allowed to teach on 25th September 1954 and the report to the Parliament urged that an investigation committee for other religions should be set up.
U Nu resigned as the Prime Minister and he was succeeded by U Ba Swe on 12th June 1956. After eight months U Nu became the Prime Minister again on 25th February 1957.

Chamber of Nationalities (Upper House) elected Mann Win Maung as the President of Union of Burma on 10th March 1957. On 27th September 1957, U Nu gave his talkathon speech lasting for 4 hrs. 7 min at the Parliament.
On 30th April 1958, Anti-Fascist People’s Freedom League split into two factions; Clean AFPFL and Permanent AFPFL. Clean AFPFL was led by U Nu and Thakin Tin, Permanent AFPFL by U Kyaw Nyein and U Ba Swe.
On 5th June 1958, Permanent AFPFL impeached U Nu for his incompetence.
On 8th June 1958, putting the impeachment proposal to the vote, there were 119 votes for and 127 votes against. So proposal of permanent AFPFL was nullified.

On 26th September 1958, the Government turned to transfer the state Power to General Ne Win's caretaker government. In the parliament, U Nu nominated General Ne Win as the Prime Minister of Union of Burma on October 1959.General Ne Win gave his inauguration speech at the Parliament. Elections could not be held within six months due to instabilities, General Ne Win was requested to continue to serve as caretaker Prime Minister. Widura Thakin Chit Maung and U Ba Nyein opposed the proposed amendment to Section 116 of the 1947 Burmese Constitution which would allow General Ne Win to continue to serve as caretaker Prime Minister.

Elections were held on 6th February 1960. Clean AFPFL won 159 seats and Permanent AFPFL won 34 seats.
General Ne Win handed back the State Power to the victorious U Nu's Union Government on 4th April 1960.U Nu promised to makes Buddhism the Official State Religion during 1960 election campaign.

On 26th August 1961 U Nu submitted that proposal and the Parliament passed a law making Buddhism the state Religion on 29th August.
Islamic Religious Affair council, Christian organizations and non-Buddhist minorities unanimously approved proposal opposing the State Religion Bill. So, the Prime Minister proposed the motion of the 'Constitution Fourth Amendment Act'.

Sangha’s' Front of Buddhist monks vigorously opposed to the idea of 'Constitution Fourth Amendment Act'. When the Parliament assembled to vote the Fourth Amendment, Buddhist monks picketed the Secretariat to forbid MPs from enactment.
Heavy security measures were taken around the Chamber and legislators sneaked in to the Parliament building.
On 2nd March 1962, General Ne Win seized power in a coup d’état and dissolved the legislature. Then the Parliament Chamber became the H.Q Union Revolutionary Council.